At Dene Community School we believe that a successful transition programme ensures that all students who join Dene have the best possible start to their secondary education.

We believe that in order for any student to achieve their full potential in all aspects of school life they need to be offered a curriculum and school that seeks to Inspire, Nurture, Respect, Encourage, Challenge, Support and Guide. These core values are something that is offered throughout Dene, as a school, and starts with the transition programme on offer to primary students.

As the transition team, we want to ensure that all students who will be joining us have the opportunity to experience what Dene has to offer through an inspirational programme of activities. This allows us to both work in the primary school and allow the students to visit Dene for a variety of events.

The primary schools that we work with are:

  • Acre Rigg Academy
  • Blackhall Colliery Primary School
  • Cotsford Junior School
  • Dene House Primary
  • Hesleden Primary School
  • Our Lady Star of the Sea
  • Seascape Primary School
  • Yohden Primary School

Miss E Carter
Learning Leader Year 7 & Transition

My role at Dene is to ensure that the transition events that we offer support students in their move up to secondary school. I work with our school staff ensuring that an inspiring transition programme takes place in all of our primary schools.

Once the students arrive at Dene I work closely with Mrs Hartley on the pastoral care of our Year 7s. We work together, making sure that the Year 7s settle in and any issues that develop over the academic year are dealt with.